The behaviour for the "Log out" button has changed slightly. It now sends you back to the character selection screen first, and from there, you can then actually log out. In retrospect, I think this makes more sense.
The character creation/selection screen has had a few bugs fixed which I didn't even realize were there. Namely, the hardcore warning will now only bother you when you actually click on "hardcore", rather than after you create the character too. Error messages (if any) are now visible again when creating a new character.